Never miss an event! To be the first to hear about our upcoming concerts, click here: 

A Romatic Evening full of Emotion and Beauty
7:30 PM19:30

A Romatic Evening full of Emotion and Beauty

On January 27 at 19.30 Opus 16 Concerten will present their first concert of the New Year with prize-winning Canadian violinist Edmund Chung and Canadian pianist Michelle Powell.

They will be performing Grieg's stormy Sonata No.3 Op. 45 in c minor, Mozart's serene violin Sonata No. 21 in e minor, K. 304 and the beautiful serenade entitled Liebesleid by Kreisler. Based in Eijsden, Powell performs and teaches extensively across Europe. Chung will be travelling from Norway to accept this special invitation from Opus 16. The duo first met in Vancouver, Canada where they performed the Brahms g minor piano quartet together last year. This event will showcase both a high level of talent and musical maturity as the duo join forces to create a memorable evening in the beautiful Ursulinenconvent in Eijsden. 

Saturday, Jan 27 19.30
Ursulinenconvent museum
Tickets are €12 per adult and €6 for children/students under 18, €25 per family. 

Edmund Chung completed his Bachelor's and Master's Degree on scholarship at the University of British Columbia, where he studied with Professor David Gillham.
Edmund has won first prize in the Hong Kong Young Artist Concerto Competition (1997), Canadian Music Competition (2008), and was a prizewinner of the Shean Strings Competition (2015). 
Edmund attended music festivals such as the Heifetz Institute, Orford Music, Greenwood, and Le Domaine Forget. He has played in master classes for Vadim Repin, Patrice Fontanarosa, Vadim Gluzman, Christian Tetzlaff, and Miriam Fried. Currently, Edmund is a substitute member in the Vancouver Symphony Orchestra. 
This fall, he is attending the Grieg Academy in Bergen, Norway to pursue an International Diploma in Performance. He is studying with David Stewart, the Concertmaster of the Bergen Philharmonic Orchestra, and Ricardo Odriozola.


View Event →

Müzewest presents A Little Night Chamber Music
7:30 PM19:30

Müzewest presents A Little Night Chamber Music

Müzewest Concerts is thrilled to present "A Little Night Chamber Music," featuring six talented musicians in the Canadian music scene!

Hugo Lee, oboe
Cristian Markós, cello
Michelle Powell, piano
Enoch Ng, viola
Billie Smith, violin
Edmund Chung, violin

Robert Schumann - Three Romances for Oboe and Piano, op. 94
I. Nicht schnell
II. Einfach, innig
III. Nicht schnell

Camille Saint-Saëns - Sonata for Oboe and Piano, op. 166
I. Andantino
II. Cadenza - Allegretto
III. Molto Allegro

Wolgang Amadeus Mozart - Oboe Quartet in F Major
I. Allegro
II. Adagio
III. Rondo (Allegro ma non troppo)


Johannes Brahms - Piano Quartet, opus 25 in G minor
I. Allegro (G minor)
II. Intermezzo: Allegro ma non troppo - Trio: Animato (C minor, ends in C major)
III. Andante con moto (E-flat major)
IV. Rondo alla Zingarese: Presto (G minor)

TICKETS: http://tickets.artspoints.com/events/81_Mzewest-Concert-A-Little-Night-Chamber-Music

View Event →